Math! Physics! And The Eye of Agammotto. Oh My!

How I feel right now.  I also want a donut.

So, here’s the thing.  I got the Universe Sampler booklet from the Astronomical League.  It is a great introduction to things to see out and about the universe.

Awesome book, and relatively understandable.
Awesome book, and relatively understandable.  Love the Star Trek font.

I was having a good old time reading it until I hit IT.  Right Acclimation and Declension.  Er, yeah, I mean Right Ascension and Declination.  Yeah.  The stars, planets, etc. are all kinds of beautiful things to look at and admire, but who the hell invited all the math and science?????

I got the idea of Altitude-Azimuth pretty easily.  However, the Right Aggravation and Dumbination thing will need some work.

What is Right Ascension and Declination and Altitude-Azooza?  Er, Azimuth?  Ways to tell where things are up in the sky.  DON’T ASK ME TO EXPLAIN IT YET.

Here is a brief discussion of what these things are.  However, the diagrams explaining the concepts remind me of the spells that Dr. Strange used to cast.

See?

Right Ascension and Declination Coordinates, from http://www.stellarium.org/wiki/index.php/Astronomical_Concepts#Coordinate_Systems.

By the Hoary Hosts of Hoggoth, this science stuff is going to be an adjustment.

But, if this means that I can learn to be the Sorcerer Supreme and hang out with the Defenders and fight the likes of Dormammu, it can’t be all THAT bad, can it?

Bear with me, folks.  Give me the latitude (and longitude) to be frustrated as I learn.  And pass me some aspirin.

Leave a Reply

