14-2-1 9:45PM OBSERVATION (CASSIOPEIA) [OBS #4] and more practical uses for Hamburger Helper when the weather stinks.

Today focused on a constellation for the Constellation Hunter Program, Cassiopeia.  The weather was pretty bad for viewing.  I put up with it, though, because we are expecting 3 storms this week, and it is probably the best I’m going to do for now and the near future.  About all that one could see were constellations and Jupiter.  I only saw about 4 stars of the Little Dipper–it was pretty bad.

For the record, until tonight I pronounced it Kas-eee-OH-Pe-Ah.  Apparently this is how you pronounce it.  It is also the most boring video I’ve ever seen on the topic.  Needs more of a body count.  But, now you know.

Tomorrow is Groundhog Day, and I’m already sampling woodchuck recipes and posting them on Facebook in the hopes that Puxatawney Phil is browsing prior to his big time tomorrow morning.  I’m not going to let an oversized agoraphobic rodent get in the way of my learning about the wonders of the universe.

The most promising recipe so far. Photo credit: http://bennydesk.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/ground-hog-helper1.jpg

Here’s my official observation log for tonight.  I think my sketching is getting progressively better.

140201 14-02-01 Observation (Cassiopeia) - 12-Edit That being said, I thought I’d try taking pictures with my nifty-fifty lens (50mm) to see if the pics came out clearer.  In my infinite wisdom, I took it off of Autofocus, and never managed to remember that I needed to manually focus it.  I’m just grateful that anyone who knows anything about photography, videography or the like is not reading this.

Anyway, here are some of the pics, such as they are.

Out of focus pic of Cassiopeia.  50mm lens on a Canon 60D.100 ISO, 1" shutter speed, 1.8 aperture.  Monochrome.
Out of focus pic of Cassiopeia. 50mm lens on a Canon 60D.100 ISO, 1″ shutter speed, 1.8 aperture. Monochrome.  In this picture, you can see how cloudy it was by the band in the upper part of the picture.
Out of focus pic of Cassiopeia.  50mm lens on a Canon 60D.100 ISO, 1" shutter speed, 1.8 aperture.  Color.
Out of focus pic of Cassiopeia. 50mm lens on a Canon 60D.100 ISO, 1″ shutter speed, 1.8 aperture. Color.
Out of focus pic of Cassiopeia.  50mm lens on a Canon 60D.100 ISO, 1" shutter speed, 1.8 aperture.  Monochrome
Out of focus pic of Cassiopeia. 50mm lens on a Canon 60D.100 ISO, 1″ shutter speed, 1.8 aperture. Monochrome.

Cassiopeia from Stellarium.  The Andromeda Galaxy is in the lower left (not observed due to weather conditions).  This is what Cassiopeia is supposed to look like, at least on the computer.

Here is information on Cassiopeia from Wikipedia. It has some Deep Space Objects (DSOs) and a few binaries in it.  None of these could be distinguished tonight.  I’m saving these up for later, when weather isn’t so terrible.

Leave a Reply

